Mastering Facebook advertising might be the reason for success. In this blog post, I’ll give you 15 tips on Facebook Advertising.
If you follow these tips, I guarantee that your advertising costs will be less, and your bank account will see more money.
Specifically, I’ll answer you on the following:
Let’s check these tips.
Before you start with creating your first ad, you should always think about your marketing objective. Why do you want to advertise? This is the question that should be answered before any activity.
There are so many reasons for Facebook advertising. Maybe you want to:
All these objectives, plus more, are available in the first step of creating a new ad.
For example, if your objective is increasing conversions on your store, then you should pick Increase conversions on your website objective.
Also, if you want to get accurate information about your costs & conversions, then you have to implement Facebook Pixel feature. Don’t worry if you don’t know how I’ll explain later how it works and how to measure it.
Now, if you are organizing an event in your town, you can choose Raise attendance at your event. Basically, Facebook will deliver your ads to the people that might be interested in visiting your event.
Your ads should always contain a Call-to-Action (CTA), because then you’ll have a better CTR, and having higher CTR is actually the reason for low CPC.
When you have a high CTR it means that the ad is very interesting and Facebook wants to show interesting and useful ads to its customers.
For example, when you offer $0.1 per click, and in 1000 impressions, you get a total of 30 clicks, Facebook earns $3.
On the other side, someone offers $0.5 clicks but only 5 people click on the ad, Facebook earns $2.5 which is, obviously, less than $3. Here’s one small infographic from AdRoll.
It appears that when you add a CTA button, your overall CTR lifts for 2.95x. In other words, CTA saves your money.
Which CTA you’ll use, it depends a lot on the industry you’re in. For example, Shop Now CTA button is very useful for:
On the other hand, if you’re in the education, finance, or healthcare industry, you consider choosing BOOK NOW Call-to-Action (CTA) button.
Photography is the story I fail to put into words. This is what Destin Sparks, an Australian landscape photographer, said. I couldn’t agree more.
For me, choosing an attractive photo is necessary if you want to achieve great advertising results.
However, the question is how and where to find attractive photos? You have four options:
Making your own photo isn’t something I would recommend. Firstly, it takes lots of time and efforts to make a great photo.
Secondly, if you want to avoid photos provided by Facebook, you can buy it which it’s much cheaper than making one. Now, I’ll show you how to pick a photo provided by Facebook.
When you click on Free Stock Images, you’ll see the tab Stock Images where you can find lots of images provided by ShutterStock for free. For example, here are stock images related to SEO.
Now, you simply pick the photo that seems the best for you and that’s it.
Another option is to download images from Pixabay.
There are over 850,000 free stock photos, vectors and art illustrations.
There’s probably something for you. Personally, I use PixaBay a lot for the blog.
Before you make your ads available online, you should calculate your CLV because that way, you’ll easier achieve a positive ROI.
What is CLV?
CLV is the amount that users, in average, pay you until they leave you.
Let’s say that your Average Revenue Per Customer (ARPC) is $50, and your monthly churn rate is 1%, your CLV is $5,000.
Here’s the formula.
CLV = 1 / 0.01 * 50 = 5000 CLV = $5,000
For example, if I assume that you spend $250 for acquiring a new customer, and it your margin profit is $3500 (70%), it means that when you pay advertising costs, you have $3250 left.
So, once you know your CLV, everything will get easier.
You know that you should always use CTA in your ads, but let’s be sure that you know which words should you include in the ad.
There are words that will help you to convert better. Now, you probably think about the next three, very used, words:
But.. these words everyone uses. We need something better, words that you can’t see everywhere- persuasive words.
For example, Buffer says that you should use words like New, Sensational, Remarkable, Secret, Tell us, Inspires, Free, and so on.
Personally, I think the word Secret is very powerful one,l when used ads.
Neil Patel has created an infographic where you can see the list of persuasive words for every social network. For example, when you run a contest/promotion, you should use:
As he says, these words are successful promotional keywords and turn people on. You can also see the list of keywords you should avoid:
Which words do you use?
You MUST implement Facebook Pixel if you’re selling on the Internet. Facebook Pixel allows you to:
Now when you know why you need Facebook Pixel, the real question is: How do I implement Facebook Pixel? Firstly, in the menu, go on Pixels.
Secondly, click on Set Up Pixel.
As you can see, there’s also Conversion Tracking Pixel, but that’s deprecated today.
Finally, you have two options:
I’ll suggest you choose Google Tag Manager since you don’t need to change your code.
I hope you that’s not too much complicated. It shouldn’t be. Once you implement tracking, you’ll see something like this.
As you might notice, I had some conversions for $0.62, $0.63 and $1.32. Not bad, ha?
According to Google Trends, interests in A/B tests have started in 2007.
The concept of A/B testing is really simple.
The only thing you have to do is to create two versions of the site - version A and version B.
Here is one example.
As you can see, these two ads have two differences. The first difference is the image which is absolutely different, and the second difference is the text.
Also, there’s definitely a huge difference in Cost per Sale. Version B has even 75.14% higher costs. With A/B tests, possibilities are unlimited.
You can test titles, descriptions, CTAs… everything. This is the reason why smart marketers say that you have to wait for 2 to 3 months to achieve full results.
It takes some time to optimize your ads and see what works and what doesn’t.
The easiest way to connect with people who have already shown an interest in your business or product is creating a custom audience.
Assuming that you own a store and have a lot of emails means that you can always tell to Facebook: Hey Facebook, this file I’m uploading contains email addresses of my customers.
Could you please target those customers into the custom audience? Facebook will tell you: No problem! I can do that.
Here’s how. In the menu, click on Audience that you can find in Assets menu.
Now, you’ll see something like this.
Next, click on Create a Custom Audience. Here, you have four options:
This is how it looks.
If you choose the first option, you have to upload a file (or copy and paste data) with customer information.
Just as I said, you have to upload email addresses of your customers, but that’s not the only way. You can upload data such as Phone Number, Date of Birth, Gender, Age, City, etc.
Once you upload a file (or copy and paste data), you have to map your identifiers, and shortly after that, your custom audience will be available for creating ads.
Please keep in mind that your audience must include at least 20 people to be used for ads.
Finally, if you want to bring your visitors back, then you can use Website Traffic option. Don’t forget that this option presumes that Facebook Pixel is implemented.
Lookalike Audiences is the way to reach new people who are likely to be interested in your business because they're similar to the customers you care about.
The sentence above is how Facebook explains what Lookalike Audience is. Specifically, Facebook uses the technology we call machine learning. Machine learning connects dots that you can’t because you don’t see them.
Machine learning finds patterns that you even don’t know they exist. It will find customers who are similar to the source you provide. The source is actually your custom audience, Facebook Pixel, or a Page.
Let’s see how to create a custom audience. In the menu, click on Audience that you can find in Assets menu.
Now, you’ll see something like this.
Then, click on Create a Lookalike Audience and you’ll need to pick:
Source can be a custom audience. For example, people who bought something from your store in the last three months.
Country is a country that you want target.
Finally, Audience Size means how close people in a new audience will be to the source. After that, click on Create Audience and enjoy getting new customers.
A product catalog is a file with the list of all the products you want to advertise. The beautiful part of this is that you can configure the catalog for the automatic update.
For example, once you sell all available items, your item will be removed from the catalog.
Or, when you get a new product, your new product will appear in ads. In other words, Product Catalog feature lets you create dynamic ads.
Once you create a product catalog, you have to create your first dynamic ad. The place where you can create dynamic ads is the same when you create non-dynamic ads.
As you can see in the photo below, you simply have to choose to Promote a product catalog objective.
After that, you must choose which product catalog you want to advertise, and of course you must implement Facebook Pixel.
Next, you have to definite your audience. This is very interesting to me since there are so many advanced features.
As you can see, you can show ads to people who viewed or added to cart products but haven’t purchased. This is why you need Facebook Pixel.
How else could you know who has viewed or added the specific product? You can also upsell, and cross-sell products.
You can even create filter your audience by age, location, gender, and so on. Basically, every feature that you have when you create non-dynamic ads.
If you wish to higher CTR (and lower CPC) you need to create a landing page for every ad set. Period.
Firstly, let’s explain how to handle campaign levels (campaign structure) when you want to create a new ad. The first level is Campaign and campaign actually, contains one or more ad sets and ads.
Next, we have something we call Ad sets. Ad set is nothing else than a group of ads. In this level, you’ll define your audience, budget, bidding, and placement.
The last level is ads which are, as I said earlier, part of Ad set. In other words, the purpose of ads for tests like different image, title, description, and so on..
Now, the best idea is to keep your Ad sets related to landing pages. For example, if you sell televisions and cameras, the best will be to have two campaigns:
After that, your campaigns should have ad sets like:
Finally, you add different ads in Flat Screen TVs ad set, different in Plasma TVs, etc. With this structure:
Always have one landing page per Ad set.
A few years ago, a big part of Facebook revenue was from desktop advertising. Today, that’s not the case.
The majority of their revenue comes from mobile advertising. In fact, mobile ads at Facebook hold 78% of their advertising revenue.
Since competitors invest huge amounts of the money in mobile ads, I always recommend separating desktop and mobile ads.
Firstly, if you are in the B2B space you should know that there are good chances that your customers are mostly on desktop devices.
An exception would be a mobile CRM app. Also, email marketing apps like Jellymetrics can’t acquire new customers from mobile users since email marketing apps are always used on the desktop.
Next, if you work in B2C space, it’s also a recommendation to separate your ads because that way you’ll optimize your ads easier.
For example, maybe your landing page isn’t optimized for mobile users as it should be, so your conversions will be different on the desktop.
Finally, as you can see in the photo above, your average CPC will be different on Mobile and different on Desktop.
I hope you liked these tips because they will definitely help you in your Facebook advertising.
What I found the most important is actually setting the correct structure (Campaign - Ad set - Ads) and calculating your CLV.
If your CLV is too low then Facebook advertising is probably not for you. Don’t be one of those who says: Ok, we didn’t convert, but it doesn’t matter - our brand awareness has increased.
And their campaign objective wasn’t brand awareness. You always have to think about the leads and conversions.
Because of this, never and forget campaigns measuring, and be informed that you can implement it only by Facebook Pixel implementation.
Finally, achieving great results will take some time so please be patient!